If I had $50 million (after tax) in lottery winnings or an unexpected windfall, these are a few of the things that I would do with the dough:

 

1)      Donate $5 million to my church and $5 million to other charities.  I would spend some serious effort deciding how to most effectively do this, because donating millions of dollars to a church can be very unhealthy for the church.

2)      Give $10 million to my friends.  This would be distributed according to my estimate of each friend’s net worth over the next 10 years.  For instance, a friend who wants to pursue social work or has a child will receive more money than a friend who owns a house and will potentially be a millionaire within a decade.

3)      Corrective eye surgery.  Is it still called surgery?  I want 20/20 vision for my wife and myself.  I have a hard time imagining what it would be like to wake up and be able to clearly see everything around me before I even leave my bed.

4)      Texas Rangers season tickets.  Make that 8 of them, because I don’t want to pick just 2-3 friends to go with me on any given day.

5)      Start a not-for-profit business.  I have a ministry in mind, but it’s not something that I can reasonably expect to ever realize, unless I come across some serious cash.

6)      Travel.  First, a hiking trip to Hawaii.

7)      Buy a house.  I want a reasonable house that I will be able to afford the taxes on.  For some reason, nobody ever thinks about that when they are suddenly wealthy.

8)      Have children.  It is no secret that I want children.  It would be a much easier decision if I knew that I could afford to raise them comfortably.

 

This is just a short list of my priorities.  I would also save and budget and be the most boring lottery winner or heir to ever see $50 million.

 

Vaya con Dios, amigos.

The Judge