There is an intriguing article in the June issue of Esquire by John H. Richardson, who spent a week with John Yoo.  Yoo is the author of the Torture Memos, which were signed by John Ashcroft while he was still working for the Bush administration.  The documents are very controversial, and some people want Yoo to be tried as a war criminal.

 

I had a very negative opinion of him myself, albeit a mostly uniformed one.  After reading the article, I have a little more respect for Yoo, and I even agree with some of his opinions, but not the ones regarding interrogation.

 

Read Is John Yoo a Monster?

 

A side note:  This month’s Esquire also features a really terrible article by Charles P. Pierce titled The Cynic and Senator Obama.  I don’t have a problem with a cynic’s view of Obama.  I just got tired of Pierce referring to himself as “the cynic” in third-person.  I stopped reading so as to avoid gouging my eyes out in frustration.

 

Vaya con Dios, amigos.

The Judge