I am watching game 5 of the Western Conference Finals of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.  The Dallas Stars are down 3-1 in the series to the Detroit Redwings, but I am still watching with some degree of hope.  I get excited about Stars hockey almost every April, and I always get my hopes up far beyond what the Stars are able to deliver.

 

A big part of my excitement about Stars hockey is the net play.  Marty Turco always takes the blame when the Stars get eliminated from the playoffs.  It should never rest entirely on his shoulders, and it usually isn’t even mostly his fault, but I guess that’s what you get for playing goalie.

 

What excites me so much about Marty Turco is the way he tends the net… and sometimes stops tending the net.  I love the confidence that he has in chasing a puck away from the goal, or challenging an opposing player who tries to set a play up behind his goal.  And then there is this…

 

 

Now, I understand that it was a very stupid move, and no goalie should ever do that.  My theory is that Turco never wanted to play goalie, and he still has dreams of being the next great Stars center.  Every time Turco leaves the crease, I hold my breath until something awesome happens… sometimes it doesn’t work out, but it’s always exciting.

 

Vaya con Dios, amigos.

The Judge