Marriage is a magnificent union between two loving individuals in the sight of God; a beautiful amalgamation of two souls; a divine expression of grace.  There are many reasons why people choose to take a partner in matrimony.  Most married (or engaged) people will tell you that they are in love, or that they have found a soul-mate.  But when it comes down to the nitty-gritty, Mel and I simply cannot live without each other.

 

I mean this in the most literal sense.  Mel and I are poor.  When we take an inventory of our current debt and our individual salaries, it is hopeless.  When we look to the future, it doesn’t get much better.  Mel will soon complete her Masters of Arts in Christian Service and become a deaconess in the United Methodist Church.  She wants to work in youth ministry.  Some day I am going to get my butt in gear, go back to school, amass even more debt (but not possibly as much as Mel has accrued), and likely take a pay cut to work in some sort of social work setting.  We will always be poor.

 

Taking a vow of marriage held our only hope.  We can now take advantage of tax breaks, share the costs of living, and carpool.  All of these are an invaluable savings to us.  We almost blew it by spending thousands of dollars on rings, a honeymoon and thank you notes, but I really think the wedding will pay for itself by our 50th wedding anniversary.

 

There have also been other benefits, of course.  Now we can copulate.  I cannot even begin to tell my unmarried readers what a wonderful joy sex is.  Suffice to say, it is the greatest 90 seconds of every week of my married life.  Beyond doin’-the-nasty, I also have a woman to do all of the womanly work around the home.  Cooking, cleaning, and laundry are all things of the past for me, and I am often greeted with a loving foot rub at the end of a long day at work.

 

Thus far, marriage has been a blessing to say the least.  We have faced absolutely no problems as husband and wife.  The petty arguments have gone by the wayside, and we cannot imagine saying a harsh word to one another.  I expect that it will continue this way for as long as we live.  Happily ever after, they say.

 

I plan to write a recap of the wedding day, but I want to wait until I have the rights to all of the wedding photos.  You can expect that post in June.

 

Vaya con Dios, amigos.

The Judge